Elizabeth G. Andersch Award

The Elizabeth G. Andersch Award honors a member of the communication discipline who is acknowledged as an outstanding teacher, scholar, and mentor. The recipient is chosen by the faculty members in the School of Communication Studies to commemorate Dr. Elizabeth Andersch, a former faculty member in our school. Dr. Andersch received her Ph.D. in 1941 from the University of Iowa. She joined our faculty in 1943 and was the first woman to be accorded tenure within the school. The Andersch Award, established in 1973, honors her memory and the tradition of excellence in teaching, research, and service she embodied as a member of our faculty.

2014 Recipient: Dr. Arvind Singhal


Dr. Arvind Singhal (asinghal@utep.edu) is the Samuel Shirley and Edna Holt Marston Endowed Professor of Communication and Director of the Social Justice Initiative in UTEP’s Department of Communication. He is also appointed,since 2009-2010, as the William J. Clinton Distinguished Fellow at the Clinton School of Public Service, Little Rock, Arkansas. Singhal teaches and conducts research in the diffusion of innovations, the positive deviance approach, organizing for social change, the entertainment-education strategy, and liberating interactional structures. His research and outreach spans sectors such as health, education, peace, human rights, poverty alleviation, sustainable development, civic participation, democracy and governance, and corporate citizenship.

Singhal is co-author or editor of 12 books – Health Communication in the 21st Century (2014); Inviting Everyone: Healing Healthcare through Positive Deviance (2010); Protecting Children from Exploitation and Trafficking: Using the Positive Deviance Approach (2009); Popular with a Purpose (2008); Communication of Innovations (2006); Organizing for Social Change (2006); Entertainment-Education Worldwide: History, Research, and Practice (2004); Combating AIDS: Communication Strategies in Action (2003); The Children of Africa Confront AIDS: From Vulnerability to Possibility (2003); India’s Communication Revolution: From Bullock Carts to Cyber Marts (2001); Entertainment-Education: A Communication Strategy for Social Change (1999); and India’s Information Revolution (1989). Three of Singhal’s books won awards for distinguished applied scholarship. In addition, he has authored some 170 peer-reviewed essays in outlets such as the Journal of Communication, Communication Theory, Communication Monographs, Health Communication, Communication Quarterly, Management Communication Quarterly, Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media, Journal of Health Communication and others.

Singhal has won Top Paper Awards from the International and National Communication Association (ICA and NCA) over a dozen times, and Ohio University’s Baker Research Award twice. The Social Science Research Council & the International Communication Association recognized Singhal as the winner of the Communication Research as Collaborative Practice Award in 2009 and the winner of the Communication Researcher as an Agent of Change Award in 2008. The NW Communication Association honored him with the 2007 Human Rights Award for Steadfast Commitment to Social Justice, Social Change, and Freedom, and in 2005, USC’s Norman Lear Center honored him with the first Everett M. Rogers Award for Outstanding Contributions to Entertainment-Education.

Singhal’s recent academic honors and appointments include President-Appointed Visiting Professor, Kumamoto (National) University, Japan (2012-13); Fulbright Hays Scholar, Slovakia (2012); Schomburg Distinguished Scholar, Ramapo College of New Jersey (2011), Commerzbank Foundation Professor, Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany (2009); Berkitt Williams Distinguished Lecturer, Ouachita Baptist University, Arkansas (2009); and Raushni Memorial Deshpande Distinguished Lecturer, Lady Irwin College, University of Delhi, India (2006).

Dr. Singhal’s research has been supported by the National Institutes of Health, The Dutch Health Research Council, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Ford Foundation, Rockefeller Foundation, The National Science Foundation, The David and Lucile Packard Foundation, UNAIDS, UNICEF, UNDP, UNAIDS, UNFPA, U.S. Department of State; U.S.A.I.D., Family Health International, PATH, Save the Children, the BBC World Service Trust, International Rice Research Institute, Voice for Humanity, and private corporations such as Procter & Gamble (U.S.A and Thailand), Telenor AS (Norway), SpareBank (Norway), and others.

He has taught previously at Ohio University, University of Southern California, University of California – Los Angeles, and held visiting professorships at the USC Annenberg School; the Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University; Royal Roads University, Canada; Kumamoto (National) University, Japan; Chemnitz University of Technology in Germany; Institut Teknologi (Malaysia), Bangkok University (Thailand); and visited and lectured in some 70 countries of Asia, Africa, Latin America, Australia, Europe, and North America.

Past recipients:

  • 2016 -None Awarded-
  • 2015 -None Awarded
  • 2014 Dr. Arvind Singhal
  • 2013 -None Awarded-
  • 2012 Dr. Ann Bainbridge Frymier
  • 2011 Dr. Lawrence R. Frey
  • 2010 Dr. Ronald C. Arnett
  • 2009 -None Awarded-
  • 2008 -None Awarded-
  • 2007 Dr. Sandra Petronio
  • 2006 Dr. Arthur P. Bochner
  • 2005 Dr. Fredric M. Jablin
  • 2004 Dr. Karlyn Kohrs Campbell
  • 2003 Dr. Gustav Friedrich
  • 2002 Dr. Larry Grossberg
  • 2001 Dr. Eric Eisenberg
  • 2000 Dr. Robert Scott
  • 1999 Dr. Sue DeWine
  • 1998 Dr. Leslie Baxter
  • 1997 Mr. Matt Lauer
  • 1996 Dr. Julia Wood
  • 1995 Dr. Steve Duck
  • 1994 Dr. Jesse Delia
  • 1993 Dr. Edwin Bettinghaus
  • 1992 Ms. Nancy Cartwright
  • 1991 Dr. Linda Putnam
  • 1990 Dr. Everett Rogers
  • 1989 Dr. Walter Fisher
  • 1988 Dr. Barnett Pearce
  • 1987 Dr. Ray E. Wagner
  • 1986 Dr. L. Edna Rogers
  • 1985 Dr. Don Faules
  • 1984 Dr. Samuel Becker
  • 1983 Dr. Robert G. Gunderson
  • 1982 Dr. Gerald R. Miller
  • 1981 Dr. Loren Reid
  • 1980 Dr. Paul H. Boase
  • 1979 Dr. W. Charles Redding
  • 1978 Dr. Jeffrey Auer
  • 1977 Dr. Virginia Hahne
  • 1976 Dr. Bowler Aly
  • 1975 Dr. Barb Leib-Brilhart
  • 1974 Dr. Mary Ellen Ludlum
  • 1973 Dr. Ruth A Wilcox

Follow COMS

Follow COMS PhD Program

Alumni Spotlight

Student Spotlight

To Top